The Project

Screen Shot 2017-06-05 at 22.30.18I am a recent history graduate who has vowed not to let local histories sit gathering dust. I hope that my research will be helpful and interesting to those looking for the more hidden side of Victorian Glasgow’s history.

The city fathers tend to dominate the historiography so my research takes a ‘bottom up’ approach and has focused on working class women and children who are in many ways still excluded from the historical narrative of Glasgow. Expect posts within the broader themes of gender, sexuality, social control and public health.

My undergraduate dissertation covered industrial and reformatory schools, Magdalene Homes and the Glasgow Lock Hospital. Most of these institutions have little readily available information online but in my searches I continually found people researching their family’s history looking for information on these as they often show up in census reports. If anyone has wound up here because of this please contact me and maybe I can help!

– Subversive Histories

Image credit: Glasgow Museums, PP.1990.62.2 ‘Children on Glasgow Green’, c. 1900
Leave a Reply

